TI Home > News Releases

News Releases

Texas Instruments names 2012 Junkins National Merit Scholarships® winners

May 2, 2012

DALLAS, May 2, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Twenty-four top students were awarded 2012 Jerry R. Junkins Memorial National Merit Scholarships® at a luncheon today at the company's headquarters in Dallas.

The scholarships, named in honor of TI's late chairman, president and CEO Jerry Junkins, are awarded to National Merit Scholarship Program finalists who are sons or daughters of active, retired or deceased TI employees. Since its inception in 1996, TI's Junkins Merit Scholarship program has given 286 scholarships amounting to more than $1.1 million.

"From academics to athletics to leadership to service; these students set the standard for their schools and beyond," said Greg Delagi, TI senior vice president. "I have no doubt that the diligence, tenacity, maturity and sheer work ethic of these students will lead them to great success, and it is encouraging to know the world will be in such capable hands in the future."

The 19 Texas students honored for their academic accomplishments this year are:

Andrew Bain of Dallas, Jesuit College Preparatory School; Ryan Bartling of Plano, Texas Academy of Math and Science; Michael Duncan of Richmond, Foster High School; Andre Duvoisin of Allen, Allen High School; Daniel Gomez of Plano, Plano High School; Charles Jin of Plano, St. Mark's School of Texas; Yu-Chun Lin of Plano, Plano High School; Richard Lyne of Fairview, Lovejoy High School; Yuhui Pang of The Colony, The Colony High School; James Pham of Sugar Land, St. John's School; Shalini Ranmuthu of Plano, Plano High School; Benjamin Russell of McKinney, McKinney Boyd High School; Christine Shaw of Plano, John Paul II High School; Rebecca Shaw of Plano, John Paul II High School; Zachary Stevens of McKinney, McKinney Boyd High School; Joseph Tessmer of Richardson, J.J. Pearce High School; James Tsao of Garland, Garland High School; Jessie Zhou of Plano, Plano High School and Jennifer Zotz of McKinney, McKinney High School.

Honorees from other TI sites include Kaustav Gopinathan of Bangalore, India, Indus International School; Revanth Kosaraju of Saratoga, California, Harker School; Dianwen Li of Cary, North Carolina, Green Hope High School; Vivian Vu of San Jose, California, Piedmont Hills High School; Pete Yeh of Cupertino, California, Monta Vista High School.

Each year, less than 1 percent of high school seniors nationwide achieve the status of National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalist. Students are selected for the awards based on their scores on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, academic record, leadership abilities, writing skills and extracurricular activities.

TI funds the scholarships in partnership with the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, a private, not-for-profit organization.

Jerry Junkins became TI's chairman in 1988 and served until his death in 1996. His passion for education helped create model Head Start programs in the Dallas Independent School District. He was also chairman of the Citizens Council Education Committee and fought for education reform in Texas schools by promoting measurement and accountability in the classroom. Sally Junkins, the wife of the late Mr. Junkins, assisted with the presentation of the awards.


Dallas Area

Allen High School, Allen ISD
Andre Duvoisin of Allen

Garland High School, Garland ISD
James Tsao of Garland

Jesuit College Preparatory School, Dallas
Andrew Bain of Dallas

J.J. Pearce High School, Richardson ISD
Joseph Tessmer of Richardson

John Paul II High School, Plano
Christine Shaw of Plano
Rebecca Shaw of Plano

Lovejoy High School, Lovejoy ISD
Richard Lyne of Fairview

McKinney Boyd High School, McKinney ISD
Benjamin Russell of McKinney
Zachary Stevens of McKinney

McKinney High School, McKinney ISD
Jennifer Zotz of McKinney

Plano High School, Plano ISD
Daniel Gomez of Plano
Yu-Chun Lin of Plano
Jessie Zhou of Plano
Shalini Ranmuthu of Plano

St. Mark's School of Texas, Dallas
Charles Jin of Plano

Texas Academy of Math & Science, Denton
Ryan Bartling of Plano

The Colony High School, Lewisville ISD
Yuhui Pang of The Colony

Houston Area

Foster High School, Lamar CISD
Michael Duncan of Richmond

St. John's School, Houston
James Pham of Sugar Land

Harker School
Revanth Kosaraju of Saratoga, CA

Piedmont Hills High School
Vivian Vu of San Jose, CA

Monta Vista High School
Pete Yeh of Cupertino, CA

Green Hope High School
Dianwen Li of Cary, NC

Indus International School
Kaustav Gopinathan of Bangalore, India

About Texas Instruments

Texas Instruments semiconductor innovations help 90,000 customers unlock the possibilities of the world as it could be – smarter, safer, greener, healthier and more fun.  Our commitment to building a better future is ingrained in everything we do – from the responsible manufacturing of our semiconductors, to caring for our employees, to giving back inside our communities.  This is just the beginning of our story.  Learn more at www.ti.com.


All registered trademarks and other trademarks belong to their respective owners.



SOURCE Texas Instruments Incorporated